Swine flu or just flu?

I have been at home on the couch for the past couple of days with some kind of illness. Aches and pains, fever, general malaise. Is it swine flu? I don’t know as I couldn’t bring myself to schlep down to the doc’s for a swab. I don’t believe I’ve been in contact with anyone who has been diagnosed as having swine flu, but they say it’s so contagious I could have breathed in the virus as I passed someone on the street who had it.

Anyhoo, I’m back at work now, feeling average, but not at death’s door. There’s a fine line between keeping your germs out of the workplace, and being a martyr to a sniffle. I’ve come back to so many emails and things to do that this will be a quick post, but can I just say that daytime television is truly awful? Those infomercials are offensive in their banality. Bad production values, terrible acting, condescending communications.

I tried to read, when I wasn’t sleeping, as there was absolutely nothing to watch on the telly. After zooming through a gripping crime novel called Malice by Lisa Jackson, I picked up David Malouf‘s Ransom, his first novel in more than 10 years. Ransom revisits Homer‘s Iliad, an exploration of male bonding, loyalty, family and war. The writing is delicate and beautiful and I am in awe, even though I have only read a couple of chapters so far.

But enough from me, I must get back to work. Look out for that hilarious letter from Danny Katz, which is now on our web site too, and give whatever you can to help make the 2009 festival the best ever.

Nina
Development Manager

Bookmark and Share

Posted on 4 June 2009, in MWF Sponsors, MWF staff musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. SUNFAST portal invites you to communicate on the forum and social network, you can also submit a free listing on the site and exchange links in directory sites. SUNFAST.ru

Leave a comment