Peter Temple’s Truth wins Miles Franklin Literary Award 2010

Peter Temple was announced as the 2010 Miles Franklin Literary Award winner at a ceremony in Sydney last night, for his novel Truth (Text Publishing).

Temple’s publisher Michael Heyward told the Weekly Book Newsletter last night that Truth had ‘changed the possibility of the crime novel’. ‘Truth is a crime novel but also a novel about crime. It’s a contemporary tragedy,’ he said. Australian Literary Review editor Stephen Romei provided an entertaining live tweet-stream last night, too, revealing that Temple looked ‘genuinely stunned’ upon the announcement, and also ‘dropped the f word in his acceptance speech’. Wonderful. Temple said the judges ‘have to take the flack for giving the Miles Franklin to a crime writer and all I can say, my advice to them is cop it sweet. You’ve done the crime, you do the time.’ You can listen to and read Temple’s acceptance speech (or parts of it) through ABC AM’s report here.

Unfortunately I haven’t had the chance to read Temple’s work as yet. When I blogged briefly on this year’s shortlist over at LiteraryMinded, the commenters had a few things to say about ‘genre’ and ‘literary’ writing. mjlivi said: ‘I’ve not read any of the other short-listed books, which is pretty poor form, but based on The Broken Shore, I’d argue that Peter Temple deserves to be treated as a “literary” writer as much as a crime writer.’

One wonders what Bryce Courtenay might think of Peter Temple’s writing – does he think he could pull off a Peter Temple, like he thinks he can pull off a Peter Carey? Is Temple the perfect ‘in-between’ writer – beautiful writing, well-developed characters + plot? What do you think?

This genre/literary discussion does come up a lot at writers’ festivals, and has certainly done so at MWF. Often the writers want nothing to do with it – seeing it as marketing gaff (but perhaps only when they feel they’ve been misrepresented). Other writers embrace their genres, but might still hope for a wider audience for them (see my notes on the ‘Visions of the City’ session at MWF 2009). As someone who’s worked in a bookstore and edited a book trade magazine, I believe the categorisation can come in handy to help readers find books they will enjoy. But it can also be detrimental to readers who might benefit from expanding their horizons. But then is something like Truth, that bridges the supposed divide, the perfect kind of novel? For all kinds of readers?

There’s a good little review of the book at Bite the Book: PNPBookseller’s blog. Official Festival bookseller Readings have also released Truth at a special online price to celebrate its win. You can buy a copy for $27.95 (down from $32.95) here.

Bookmark and Share

Posted on 23 June 2010, in Other events and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. If anything, where Temple has really moved away from the crime genre with Truth is in abandoning the really strong, linear *plot*and the ‘catch the baddie’ resolution. This started in The Broken Shore were, as a puzzled colleague reminded me yesterday, a crucial event in the denoument is left unclear and unexplained. Truth is even more abstract and sketchy in its plot — and that’s probably why the Miles judges thought it has ‘transcended genre’ and could be seen as a great ‘literary’ book that was *about* a crime, rather than ‘a crime novel’ …

  2. I very recently finished reading “The Broken Shore”. I thoroughly enjoyed the dialogue and characterisation, especially of the central character, Detective Joe Cashin. But several aspects of the final section of the book were unsatisfactory in what is otherwise a crime novel. I’m still unsure whether this is due to Temple deliberately wanting to break the boundaries of the crime genre or just him running out of steam. Temple is on record for disdaining editors working on his writing; if I had responsibility for copyediting “The Broken Shore” I would have suggested revisions to the concluding chapters. From what I have heard from colleagues, including Tim Coronel, iin “Truth” Temple moves still further away from genre conventions; I’m looking forward to reading it soon.

  3. You made some decent points there. I checked on the web for more information about the
    issue and found most people will go along with your views on this website.

  4. Greetings from California! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not
    even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, good blog!

  5. When someone writes an article he/she retains the image of a user in his/her
    brain that how a user can be aware of it. Thus that’s why this post is perfect. Thanks!

Leave a comment