MWF 2010 authors on… Melbourne

Tony Wilson

If Sydney is the loud good looking kid in class who everyone gravitates towards but who you eventually discover has ADD and an eating disorder, Melbourne is the quieter, more measured kid who you don’t really like at the beginning of term but who is interested in the same things that you’re interested in, and whose parents own a really kickarse record collection.

Andrew Humphreys

A city that still strikes me, a lifelong Sydneysider, as unaccountably foreign and exotic. Every time I hear a tram bell I close my eyes and brace for impact.

Kristel Thornell

I see myself living in Melbourne. Vividly. I do, no doubt, in a parallel universe. It took me too long to get there for the first time, but when I did the city was like certain people you have just met but seem to know already in some special, intuitive way. As if you’d dreamed them. I’d already discovered the landscapes of Clarice Beckett by then, so I had dreamed Melbourne.

Feel free to share your own responses to the topic, or to the authors’ responses, in the comments.

Bookmark and Share

Posted on 22 August 2010, in Author info and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment