At the root

Every time I get into an emotional slump or an intellectually tricky spot, my friend Karen says to me, ‘Go back to your core texts.’

It’s a misleadingly studious-sounding and very arts-degree piece of advice, but it’s probably some of the best I’ve ever received because what she really means is: go back to those books, films, stories, songs and ideas that changed you, that sparked a new understanding in you, that helped you decide what it was you found really important.

Perhaps the studious tone of the advice isn’t totally misplaced, because the first book I always go back to is Simone de Beauvoir’s The Second Sex. I came across it in my second year of uni, not through gender studies but through the philosophy department. I took a class on existentialism because I wanted to immerse myself in Sartre, but it was The Second Sex that eventually consumed me.

I found the book strange, startling and occasionally confusing, but every now and then a passage would resonate so strongly with my own experiences that it would lodge itself in the forefront of my consciousness, demanding I pay attention. Not being able to get it out of my head I would underline words, scribble notes in the margins, copy whole passages out onto paper just to make sure I’d processed them properly.

It was her discussion of the woman in love that knocked me about the most at the time:

Every woman in love recognises herself in Hans Andersen’s little mermaid who exchanged her fishtail for feminine legs through love and then found herself walking on needles and live coals. 

I spent a lot of time kicking the football in party dresses as a kid (so to speak) and in my late teens I listened to a lot of Tori Amos because she gave voice, however cryptically, to a half-acknowledged set of instincts that were fundamentally frustrated by and yet still found themselves drawn to the aesthetics of traditional gender constructs.

and in the mist there she rides
and castles are burning in my heart
and as I twist I hold tight
and I ride to work
every morning wondering why
“sit in the chair and be good now”
and become all that they told you

I couldn’t say in all honesty that Beauvoir alone made me call myself a feminist. But if Amos’ songs prised open something inside me, Beauvoir put into tough, articulate sentences those feelings that I’d previously only ever expressed instinctively, or approached metaphorically through art or music.

At the 2010 MWF, one of the most rewarding and interesting panels I had the privilege to attend was ‘From Woolf to Wolf’. Sophie Cunningham, Monica Dux and Emily Maguire talked with MWF’s own Jo Case about feminist literature: Virginia Woolf’s A Room of One’s Own, Germaine Greer’s The Female Eunuch and Naomi Wolf’s The Beauty Myth respectively. It was heartening to see so many people of all ages at a session on feminist writing, but even more so to hear women talking about how those books – and many others besides – so profoundly influenced or changed them. And I remembered telling my mother about my experience reading The Second Sex. How it made me angry, afraid, astonished and excited all at once. She said she felt the same when, as an 18-year-old, she found Betty Friedan’s The Feminine Mystique. ‘Reading that book,’ she said, ‘was the first time I’d ever really thought: perhaps the world doesn’t have to be like this.’

About Stephanie Honor Convery

Stephanie Honor Convery is a writer of fiction, non-fiction, criticism and commentary. Her work has been featured in Overland, Meanjin, and on the ABC Drum, among others. She is based in Melbourne and has just completed her first novel. She also blogs at http://gingerandhoney.com and http://overland.org.au/blogs/lfmg/. On Twitter she is @gingerandhoney.

Posted on 20 July 2011, in MWF staff musings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I was at that Woolf to Wolf session, too, Stephanie (I blogged about it here), and I agree it was a great turnout for a fascinating discussion. I hope something similar is planned for the MWF 2011.

  2. What I find amazing about texts like ‘The Second Sex’, ‘The Female Eunuch’ and ‘The Beauty Myth’ is how relevant some parts of them still are in 2011. Unfortunately with the idea that we live in a post-feminist world there will be a whole generation of women that won’t have read such books and realise how influential they have been, and how they still, despite all the years since their publication, speak to the experiences of women.

    I also hope there is another session at MWF 2011 on feminist literature.

    • Stephanie Honor Convery

      Yes, definitely. I find new relevancies in those books every time I read them.

      I like to hope that if we keep talking about books like these (and keep writing them) younger women will keep being drawn to them or coming across them in one way or another.

  3. Stay tuned Angela – can’t reveal details, but I can say there are some feminist goodies planned for MWF 2011!

    Love this blog post, Stephanie, even if I do say so myself as a MWF person. That panel was a huge highlight for me too. I felt so privileged to be in that company as chair, and so gratified to see that huge audience of (mostly) women there to discuss feminism and feminist influences.

  4. Karen Pickering

    Core texts are what keep me alive, it’s true! I recently reread both The Female Eunuch and The Women’s Room and as mentioned, a lot of the horror still rings true. But also, it’s interesting to revisit these texts in my thirties and find that I get something different out of them. What hit me hard in my teens and twenties is not the same as what kicks me in the guts now. They remain core texts (core to my values, being, sense of self etc) but they morph and change and mesh with new experiences in an astounding way. Go back and see for yourself!

  5. That’s great advice, about going back to your core texts,and I totally agree. I also go back to Simone De Beauvoir and Sarte, among aothers. There’s definitely something about De Beauvoir’s voice that resonated with me when I first read her. Of all the writers I’ve read, she seems to have the most profound insight into the female condition.

  6. Oooh, I like this very much.

  7. I’m excited! And only two more sleeps until the MWF2011 program is revealed…

Leave a comment