How to ask questions without people wishing death upon you (a guide)

The first day of the Melbourne Writers Festival is almost at a close. With the onset of the weekend and more and more crowds pouring into various events, I thought it might be helpful to post a small, yet thoughtful, guide to the art of asking questions. Towards the end of each session the audience is invited to talk directly to the speaker/s they have excitedly come to see. It sounds wonderful, and it is, but it’s not without its pitfalls. So dear reader, read on.

1. Be prepared.
Asking a question is a lot like ordering in a cafe. Don’t wait until the last second to fumble through your handbag to find your purse, you are holding everyone else up. Think of your question as loose change – add it up in your mind before handing it over. People love getting exact change, and they love exact questions even more.

2. It is the size that counts
Keep your question short. If you can’t say what you need in one sentence, then you don’t really understand what it is you’re trying to say. So if you’re not sure what you’re asking, imagine how everyone else will feel. You don’t want your mouth to be ground zero for an explosion of furrowed brows.

3. One question, that’s all folks.
Writers like writing. They love their writing in particular, and they love talking about their writing almost as much as fantasizing about giant golden idols of their likeness erected outside public libraries. So every time you’re wrestling the microphone out of the poor volunteer’s hands to ask a second follow up question, you’re greedily taking the spotlight away from a writer. Big mistake. The moment you move the focus off an author is the moment they invent a character that looks exactly like you who will be killed off horribly in their next book.

4. Don’t open with a joke.
It’s not open mic night. You’re not the best man in a wedding speech. Just ask your question. The volunteers have all been equipped with iPhone apps that play crickets chirping, and they WILL use these ruthlessly.

5. Avoid being too clever
You’ve bought tickets to see some of the great intellectuals of the world engage in heated debate and passionate analysis. You chose mental stimulation over watching television. We get it, you’re clever. You have nothing to prove at this point. Foisting a novella of a question upon a speaker usually makes you seem like a twat, unless you’re trying to stump Jonathan Franzen during his keynote address, that’s actually pretty damned funny.

6. Save it for your fan fiction.
It’s wonderful that you’re so invested in the characters the author has created. It’s just that when you ask about the likelihood of the lead character hooking up with a roving band of sexy space gypsies, you have painted yourself into a creepy, creepy corner.

7. Beware the doubt loop
The doubt loop occurs when you haven’t really planned out your question. As the words tumble out of the lower part of your head, the top part begins to doubt the relevance of those words and tries to overcome this problem by throwing more words at it. It’s like trying to put out a fire by smothering it in petrol. Take a breath, pause for a moment to reflect on what you’re trying to say, and try again. If you’re truly frozen with panic, don’t even finish your question. Just tap your finger on the side of your head with a smirk and say “Never mind, I’ve already figured it out. Jesus I’m awesome”

There you go, a few key things to remember.
Further to this list I would add: If you’re watching an all female panel discuss relationships in fiction. Do not ask why there isn’t a guy on the panel, and if that is symptomatic of the stereotype that men don’t enjoy talking endlessly about relationships. Jane Smiley will freeze you with her mystical ice powers and spit directly into your heart. Especially when the audience is 99% female and you preface your question with “As the only bobbing dot of testosterone in a sea of estrogen”. Lesson learned.

Posted on 26 August 2011, in MWF staff musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Ha! I was in the relationship session and it was awkward, especially given that there were at least 20 other men in the room and one of them had previously made a comment!

  2. Jane did not live up to her surname…

  3. Jeez Louise Simon Keck. Now you tell me. I wanted to ask Jonathan Franzen why he didn’t mention the bird protecting Catbibs by name in his book so that people could buy them and save hundreds of thousands of birds, but It was a bit cheeky and I wasn’t sure if I should ask and I was a bit star struck so I put my hand down and relaxed. Then the two lovely strangers next to me said, “No ask”, “You’ll only get one chance”. So I put my hand up again.

    It was the last question. The microphone was up the back somewhere. I didn’t know whether to wait or not and neither did the speakers. So poor Jonathan Franzen had to repeat what I said, which felt weird, and had to hold up the Catbib I brought in (which is a piece of neoprene with Velcro that you attach to a cat’s collar) and repeat “80% less predation” which was also weird, and then I was so flustered I didn’t get the question out properly anyway. Earth please open and swallow me whole. So I apologise to all the people who wished death upon me, and to the TV crew who will probably now have an editing problem.

    I, Neroli Wesley, do solemnly swear to keep my mouth shut for the rest of the festival, so help me.

  4. Next year these instructions should be included with every program, printed on every ticket, and repeated before every talk.

    I especially endorse your instructions to keep it brief, make it a question not a statement and don’t be too clever. If you’ve read Heidegger keep it to yourself.

    I would also suggest remember this is a public space not a private chat so ask yourself if you honestly think anyone else in the room is interested, and especially don’t try to subvert the topic to your own pet cause.

    Agree you should be prepared and don’t fumble but not sure about the analogy of having correct change. It’s generally quicker to just hand over a $10 note and get change from the till than to count out the exact amount of your soy latte and blueberry muffin. Likewise just go for a succinct straightforward question rather than one of eloquent precision.

    My suggestion to the chair/moderator: be ruthless and where necessary paraphrase the long-winded question.

    Finally, no the question after Jonathan Franzen’s keynote address wasn’t funny but his response was very good.

  5. I try to raise awareness of an Australian bird that’s about to go extinct. With that in mind, I asked a question about endangered species, a Dorothy Dixer, if you will.

    In doing so, I admit, I hijacked the Birds of a Feather session in order to give this matter some airtime among people who neither know nor care too much, one way or the other.

    My voice shook with nerves but I was very pleased with Franzen’s response. He spoke of morality and of ‘preventing the extinctions of creatures we’re causing the extinction of’.

    The orange-bellied parrot isn’t a pet cause. It’s an unfolding disaster.

  6. Oops. This was supposed to be on the string, ‘Birds don’t have to be FOR anything.’

  7. Hi Debbie,

    It probably was on the bird post. There’s a moderator here playing god I think.

    I think your question was a good one. it was a complex moral question expressed succinctly. You evinced Franzen’s depth of feeling and he gave a thoughtful response as he was struggling and choosing his words carefully. I reckon he understands that it’s an unfolding disaster, but as he mentioned, he was very careful to introduce his nature and conservation messages well into “Freedom” because he didn’t want to turn off readers. Perhaps that answers my question as well.

    Far from hijacking the session I think it was reasonable to raise questions about conservation of birds. It’s a session about birds and birding and writing, featuring writers who love birds. What better place? Sometimes you have to have the guts to speak from the heart.

    Neroli

    • Hi Neroli
      No, my comment wasn’t moderated. I did mis-post it. Too late.
      I’d like to see the catbib sold in every pet shop and animal shelter in Australia, despite how silly it makes them look.
      Cats just can’t help but kill everything they see. There are plenty of other management options but it would be nice if this invention took off.
      Debbie

Leave a comment