Five (or more) facts: Toni Jordan

Toni Jordan is the author of the popular, award-winning and internationally published books Addition and Fall Girl. Her latest witty, sweet novel, Nine Days, is the story of the most important day in the lives of four generations of one family. Jordan teaches creative writing at RMIT University in Melbourne and has lectured and presented workshops on writing around Australia. Her short stories and articles have been published widely.

Five (or more) facts:

When I finished my most recent book I went straight from the publisher’s office to the airport, where I flew to Beijing to start my AsiaLink residency. Never a dull moment.

My favourite cocktail is anything with gin in it, and I like it sour and lemony.

I’m currently reading Gerald Murnane’s The Plains. I loved the first half; it’s brilliant writing and very clever. The second half is also brilliant, but it’s clearly meant for people cleverer than me.

When I was a child I wanted to be Wonder Woman. The whole bit. Belt, boots, strapless top, magic lasso—she was kick-arse magnificent.

Last night I dreamt I had a bandaid stuck on my eyeball, and when I pulled it off, half my eyeball came off. I was left with this jagged hole like a broken boiled egg instead of an eye. I don’t know what it means but it can’t be good.

When I’m stuck, or need to take a break from writing, I take Myron the WonderWhippet for a walk. He’s vital to my process and should be tax-deductible.

Catch Toni Jordan at The Stella Prize Trivia Night on Friday 31 August at 7:30pm alongside Cate KennedyPaddy O’ReillyEmily MaguireSusan JohnsonJacinta Halloran and Ruby J Murray. She’ll be reading from her work at The Morning Read session on Saturday 1 September at 10am, and she’ll be discussing dads on Father’s Day, Sunday 2 September, with Tony BirchPatrick Gale and Deborah Robertson.

Posted on 16 August 2012, in Author info, MWF events and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment