Five facts: John Boyne

John Boyne is one of the main stars in this year’s program, he has appeared in no less than seven festival sessions. He is the author of seven novels including the international bestseller The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas which has sold more than five million copies worldwide. His latest novel is The Terrible Thing That Happened To Barnaby Brocket.

Five facts:

My favourite writers’ festival experience was taking part in an event with the great Morris Gleitzman at the Melbourne Writers Festival in 2009. We had both written books on a similar theme and having known his work for some years it was an honour to share a stage with him.

I’m currently reading The Forrests by Emily Perkins. I’ll be visiting New Zealand in September and am interested in reading some contemporary NZ fiction.

When I was a child I wanted to be a writer or a pop star. Sadly the latter never came true but the fomer worked out ok.

When I’m stuck, or need to take a break from writing, I take my dog for a run in the mountains, let the fresh air clear my head.

The first thing I ever wrote was a new adventure for the Secret Seven.

 

Posted on 30 August 2012, in Author info, MWF events and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment